

National Voluntary Consensus Standards for Patient Outcomes Pulmonary Technical Advisory Panel

Dr. Barbara Yawn, MD (Chair)

Director, Department of Research-Olmstead Medical Center

Dr. Barbara Yawn is a family physician doing full time clinical research who donates about 25% of her time to work on international guidelines panels (AIRA, the International Primary Care Respiratory Guidelines for WHO), national panels (VWD for NHLBI, SCD for NHLBI, asthma---EPR 3 for 2007 guidelines and currently NIAID food allergy panel), state panels for asthma and COPD and the Minnesota Measurement Committee for asthma. In addition she leads studies in community based translation for asthma care (NHLBI), diagnosis and management of postpartum depression (AHRQ) and epidemiology studies for the CDC in herpes zoster. Before beginning her research career, Dr. Yawn was a rural primary care physician for 14 years.

Dr. Michael Lewis, MD

Director, Respiratory Intensive Care Unit, Professor Medicine- Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Dr. Lewis is Director of the Respiratory ICU and Program Director of the Pulmonary /Critical Care Fellowship Program at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center. He holds the rank of Professor of Medicine, at the David Geffen School of Medicine at the University of California, Los Angeles. His duties include patient care, teaching, research and administration, including quality initiatives. Primary areas of clinical interest involve emphysema/COPD, pulmonary hypertension and neuromuscular respiratory failure. Basic and translational research interests include: respiratory and limb muscle cell biology and mechanisms of muscle atrophy, emphysema and pulmonary arterial hypertension, supported by NIH and other agencies.

Dr. Mark Millard, MD

Medical Director- Baylor Health Care System

Dr. Millard graduated from UT Southwestern Medical School in Dallas, TX in 1976, and subsequently completed internal medicine training at Yale-New Haven Hospital in New Haven, CT. He received his pulmonary fellowship at Boston University in Boston, MA and then entered private practice in pulmonary medicine at Baylor University Medical Center, Dallas, TX. In 1990 he became Medical Director of the Baylor Martha Foster Lung Care Center dedicated to clinical consultation, medical education, clinical research and community outreach. He is a founding Board member and past President of The Dallas Asthma Consortium. Research interests include exercise physiology and rehabilitation, asthma assessment and management paradigms, along with pharmaceutical studies of new medications relevant to asthma, COPD and cystic fibrosis.

Dr. Margaret Neff, MD, MSc

Associate Prof. of Medicine, Medical Director for Critical Care- Harborview Medical Center

After training in internal medicine, Dr. Neff specialized in pulmonary and critical care medicine. She has advanced her knowledge and skill base in this field and has also expanded her abilities with additional training in epidemiology. Currently Dr. Neff serves as the associate medical director for critical care at Harborview Medical Center. That role entails oversight for the intensive care units including process improvement and identifying ways to both internally and externally monitor progress. The role is multidisciplinary and draws heavily on her abilities as both a team leader and member.

Dr. O'Connor, Division Chief of Asthma, Allergy, and Clinical Immunology at Sharp Rees-Stealy Medical Group in San Diego, served as Director, Department of Clinical Research for over twenty years and Director, Department of Quality Management since 1995. He is certified by the ABP and ABAI. He is a member of the NCQA Respiratory Measurement Advisory Panel. Pharmacoeconomics of health care is a major research interest.

Dr. O'Connor has extensive experience in managed care and served on numerous committees and advisory boards. He has approximately 120 publications and has participated as investigator on more than 135 Phase II and III clinical trials, and was Chairman of the Institutional Review Board for Sharp HealthCare for six years, supervising over 200 clinical trials annually.