

Meeting of the Board of Directors May 19, 2015

A meeting of the Board of Directors of the National Quality Forum (NQF) was held on May 19, 2015, by teleconference.

Participants

Board Members Attending: Helen Darling (Chair); Lawrence Becker (Treasurer); Peter Briss (CDC Designee); Christine Cassel (President & CEO); Maureen Corry; Carol Cronin; Leonardo Cuello; Liz Fowler; Bob Galvin; Karen Ignagni; Don Kemper; Bill Kramer; Harold Miller; Dolores Mitchell; Elizabeth Mitchell; Mary Naylor; Laurel Pickering; Louise Probst; Lew Sandy; David Shahian; Bruce Siegel; Kirsten Sloan; Rich Umbdenstock (Vice Chair); Nancy Wilson (AHRQ Designee)

Non-Voting Ex Officio Board Members Attending: Cristie Upshaw Travis (CSAC Chair); Paul Tang (HITAC Chair)

Board Members Not Attending: Jim Chase; Jack Cochran; Patrick Conway (CMS Designee); Joyce Dubow; Marge Ginsburg; Ardis Hoven; Marc Overhage; Deborah Parham Hopson (HRSA Designee)

NQF Staff: Tim Gannon; Ann Greiner; Ann Hammersmith; Nicole Silverman; Marcia Wilson

Guest: Leslie Pine, BDO

CLOSED SESSION

The Board met in closed session at 1:00 p.m.

2014 Financial Audit

BDO reviewed the financial statements and the audit report for 2014. Leslie Pine of BDO said that NQF once again had a clean audit for 2014. Larry Becker, Treasurer, noted that Tim Gannon, Senior Finance Director, and Nicole Silverman, Chief Operating Officer, did an excellent job with the audit and the

management of NQF's finances. The Board met with Ms. Pine privately following the auditor's presentation.

ACTION ITEM: The Board accepted the 2014 Audit Report.

Vice Chair of the NQF Board

ACTION ITEM: The Board voted to elect Bruce Siegel as Vice Chair to complete Rich Umbdenstock's term as Vice Chair.

Incubator Advisory Council

<u>ACTION ITEM</u>: The Board voted to approve the proposed Measure Incubator Advisory Council slate, as follows:

- Carolyn Clancy, MD, Interim Under Secretary for Health, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
- Robert Galvin, MD, Chief Executive Officer, Equity Healthcare, The Blackstone Group
- Michael McGinnis, MD, IOM Senior Scholar and Executive Director, IOM Roundtable on Value and Science-driven Health Care
- Eric Schneider, MD, Senior Vice President for Policy and Research, The Commonwealth Fund
- Jed Weissburg, MD, Senior Fellow, Institute for Clinical and Economic Review
- [consumer member TBD]

CSAC Slate

<u>ACTION ITEM</u>: The Board voted to appoint Lee Fleisher as CSAC Chair and Carolyn Pare as CSAC Vice Chair.

ACTION ITEM:

 \rightarrow The Board voted to reappoint the following CSAC members:

- o William Conway
- o David Knowlton
- o Arden Morris
- o David Rhew
- o Dana Gelb Safran

 \rightarrow The Board voted to appoint the following new CSAC members:

- o Linda Groah
- o Barbara Levy
- o Shelly Fuld Nasso
- o Susan Schow
- $\circ \quad \text{Henry Ting} \\$
- o Lina Walker

Congressional Update

Ann Greiner, Vice President for External Affairs, reviewed key points related to H.R. 2, The Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (P.L. 114-10, MACRA), which includes level funding of \$75 million over two and one-half years for NQF, plus another \$75 million to CMS to fund performance measure development for the new clinician payment program. Ms. Greiner answered a number of the Board's questions.

The Board considered no other business and the meeting adjourned at 1:50 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Ann F. Hammersmith Corporation Secretary