

Proposed Roster

Patient Safety Standing Committee (New Appointments)

NQF is currently seeking to fill gaps for the Patient Safety project in the following areas:

- Implementation of patient safety measures in health systems (i.e., chief nursing officers, physician executives)
- Specific clinical expertise areas: radiologists, nurse anesthetists, critical care, pharmacy
- Expertise in the following areas: health policy, measure development, epidemiology

Newly Proposed Committee Members

Emily Aaronson, MD

Assistant Chief Quality Officer, Massachusetts General Hospital Boston, MA

Dr. Emily Aaronson is Assistant Chief Quality Officer at Massachusetts General Hospital, Assistant Professor at Harvard Medical School, and an attending physician in the Department of Emergency Medicine. She also serves as an Associate Medical Director for CRICO, the risk management foundation of the Harvard medical institutions. Prior to this, she was a resident in the Harvard Affiliated Emergency Medicine Residency, where she served as a chief resident. She completed a fellowship in patient safety and quality improvement and a master's in public health at the Harvard School of Public Health. Before medical school, Dr. Aaronson worked in healthcare consulting.

Kelly Besco

Medication Safety Officer, OhioHealth Columbus, OH

Kelly Besco is Medication Safety Officer for OhioHealth where she leads improvement opportunities for medication management systems. Kelly is an Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice for the Ohio State University's College of Pharmacy. She serves on the Institute for Safe Medication Practice's Clinical Advisory Board, is a member of ASHP's Section Advisory Group on Medication Safety, and is a prior member of FDA's Drug Safety and Risk Management Advisory Committee. Kelly earned her doctor of pharmacy degree from Ohio Northern University. She completed an ASHP accredited residency in pharmacy practice at Riverside Methodist Hospital and ISMP's Safe Medication Management Fellowship.

Patient Safety Proposed Roster

The final approval of this roster is contingent upon the proposed roster commenting period: 11/8/2019 to 11/21/2019. Comments should be submitted via email to patientsafety@qualityforum.org.

Elissa Charbonneau, DO, MS

Chief Medical Officer, Encompass Health Corporation Birmingham, AL

Dr. Elissa Charbonneau was appointed chief medical officer of Encompass Health in June 2015 after starting as Vice President of Medical Services. She is a board certified physiatrist and holds an academic appointment at Tufts University, where she is associate professor of PM&R. In 2007 and 2012, she was named HealthSouth's Medical Director of the Year. She received her DO from the New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine, a master of epidemiology/natural sciences from SUNY Buffalo and a bachelor of science in biology from Cornell University. She completed a residency in PM&R at Temple University/Moss Rehabilitation Hospital.

Terry Fairbanks, MD, MS, FACEP

Vice President, Quality & Safety, MedStar Health Washington, DC

Rollin J. "Terry" Fairbanks, MD, MS, FACEP is Vice President, Quality & Safety at MedStar Health, founding director of the National Center for Human Factors in Healthcare, professor of emergency medicine at Georgetown University, and emergency physician at MedStar Washington Hospital Center. He holds a master's degree in ISE/System Safety Engineering with a human factors engineering focus. He has published over 150 papers, served in formal safety advisory roles for the US, British, Spanish, and Australian governments, served on NPSF board of advisors, and was listed in Becker's "Top 50 Experts Leading the Field of Patient Safety.

Fran Griffin, RRT, MPA

Independent Consultant, Fran Griffin & Associates Neptune, NJ

Frances Griffin is a Respiratory Therapist and has worked in clinical areas including adult, pediatric and neonatal critical care. She advanced to senior hospital administration overseeing quality, case management, infection prevention, and other areas in both academic, tertiary care, and community hospitals. Ms. Griffin's patient safety work led to a faculty role at the Institute for Healthcare Improvement followed by recruitment to a full-time role, where she directed numerous patient safety improvement projects and was faculty for the 100k and 5 Million Lives Campaigns. She worked at the CMS Innovation Center and currently is an independent consultant.

Jamie Roney, DNP, RN-BC, CCRN-K

Covenant Health Texas Regional Research Coordinator, Covenant Health System Lubbock, TX

Ms. Roney is a nurse leader dedicated to patient safety and quality care. Her nursing career includes service to our country in the U.S. Army Reserves. Her nursing practice includes work in acute care settings in West Texas. She is active in local and national nursing organizations including the American Association of Critical Care Nurses and Sigma Theta Tau International. She has taught multiple continuing education programs on safety-related topics including CMS core measures, IHI bundles, and identification and management of the septic patient.

Patient Safety Proposed Roster

The final approval of this roster is contingent upon the proposed roster commenting period: 11/8/2019 to 11/21/2019. Comments should be submitted via email.

David Seidenwurm, MD, FACR

Quality and Safety Director, Sutter Health Sacramento, CA

Dr. Seidenwurm is currently a neuroradiologist with Sutter Medical Group in Sacramento, CA. He is chair of the group-wide Quality Committee and the System Radiology Quality & Safety Medical Director. Previously, he had been a neuroradiologist at Radiological Associates of Sacramento since 1991, and past Chairman of the Diagnostic Radiology Division, comprised of 43 radiologists covering 5 hospital radiology departments and 12 independent imaging facilities. He has also been president of California Managed Imaging, a statewide diagnostic imaging network.

Geeta Sood

The Society for Healthcare Epidemiology of America Baltimore, MD

Dr. Geeta Sood is an infectious disease physician who completed her medical training at Temple University and her epidemiology training at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. She has served as a hospital epidemiologist for 11 years. She was an active member of the SHEA Public Policy and Government Affairs (PPGA) Committee and currently serves on the SHEA Quality Metrics Task Force. She is a member of Maryland's Health Services Cost Review Commission's Performance Measurement Review Committee, which advises the state on the development and evaluation of quality metrics tied to hospital payment through Maryland's unique all-payer model.

Patient Safety Proposed Roster

The final approval of this roster is contingent upon the proposed roster commenting period: 11/8/2019 to 11/21/2019. Comments should be submitted via email.