• The National Quality Partners (NQP™) is an active forum for members to connect, collaborate, and provide thought leadership on quality improvement strategies.

    We are pleased to launch the National Quality Partners™ (NQP™) Serious Mental Illness Action Team to bring experts and recognized leaders together to improve the quality of care for the 10 million Americans who have serious mental illnesses. Individuals with serious mental illness include those suffering from mental, behavioral, and emotional disorders that cause functional impairment and interfere with major life activities. When left untreated, these adults experience poor health outcomes and high rates of suicide, homelessness and incarceration.

    By partnering together and sharing best practices, the NQP Action Team will identify solutions to common pain points related to serious mental illness care. Through a series of web meetings and one in-person forum, the NQP Serious Mental Illness Action Team will foster collaboration and sharing to address gaps in care and inspire action in others.

    In order to benefit from diverse viewpoints and experiences, the Serious Mental Illness Action Team spans organizations across all sectors of health care including, patients, caregivers, clinicians, physician associations, research groups, federal agencies, and more. NQP expresses sincere appreciation to the following individuals and member organizations for their commitment to improving serious mental illness care:

    Magellan Health, Inc.
    Karen Amstutz, Chair

    Alliant Health Solutions
    Tod Citron

    American College of Emergency Physicians
    Mike Gerardi

    American Hospital Association
    Caitlin Gillooley

    American Occupational Therapy Association
    Virginia (Ginny) Stoffel

    American Psychiatric Association Foundation
    Benjamin Druss

    American Psychiatric Nurses Association
    Lora Peppard

    American Society of Health-System Pharmacists
    Anna Legreid Dopp

    AmeriHealth Caritas
    Andrea Gelzer

    BlueCross BlueShield Association
    Anshu Choudhri

    Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
    Rebecca Bitsko

    Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
    Lauren Lowenstein

    Health Resources and Services Administration
    Alexander Ross

    Henry Ford Hospital
    Brian Ahmedani

    IBM Watson Health
    Lisa Patton

    Institute for Behavioral Healthcare Improvement
    Joyce Wale

    Kaiser Permanente
    Stuart Buttlaire


    Mathematica Policy Research, Inc.
    Jonathan Brown

    Merck & Co., Inc.
    Rezaul Khandker

    Mercy Health
    Kyle John

    MHA Keystone Center for Patient Safety & Quality
    Laura Appel

    Molina Healthcare
    Deborah Wheeler

    National Association for Behavioral Healthcare
    Sarah Wattenberg

    National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors
    Brian Hepburn

    New Jersey Hospital Association
    Mary Ditri

    Northeast Business Group on Health
    Kathy Sakraida

    Northeast-Caribbean AIDS Education and Training Centers
    Francine Cournos

    Northwell Health
    Inderjit Singh

    Otsuka Pharmaceutical Development and Commercialization, Inc.
    Heidi Waters

    Partners Behavioral Health Management
    Jeffrey Sanders

    Patient & Family Centered Care Partners, Inc.
    Christine Abbott

    Patient & Family Centered Care Partners, Inc.
    Glenn Kopelson

    Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
    Kirstin Painter

    The Joint Commission
    Paulo Pontemayor

    Veterans Health Administration
    John McCarthy

    WellCare Health Plans, Inc.
    Marketa Wills

    Learn more and sign up for project alerts for news and announcements about the NQP Serious Mental Illness Action Team to stay connected.

  • Take your seat at our table. Become a member. Join NQF.