• The National Quality Forum’s Leadership Consortium provides strategic guidance that informs the direction of current and future NQF programs and is committed to influencing meaningful and lasting change on the nation’s highest priority healthcare issues.

    The Leadership Consortium is an exclusive forum designed to elevate our members’ voices to help identify meaningful and impactful issues that will drive change in healthcare for every person. The National Quality Forum (NQF) has annually convened this forum of multistakeholder healthcare leaders since 2017.

    As a direct result of the priorities set by the Leadership Consortium, NQF has convened numerous multistakeholder panels of experts to address topics including the opioid crisis, serious mental illness, social determinants of health (SDOH), patient-centered health system co-design, healthcare workplace violence, medication safety, and virtual healthcare quality.

    Starting in the spring of 2022, the Leadership Consortium is engaging in an approach that is both strategic and action-oriented. Leadership Consortium members will continue to use their shared expertise to prioritize an emergent issue, and now have a unique opportunity to pilot promising solutions in an Implementation Collaborative. By serving as both an advisor and a change agent, the Leadership Consortium will provide the broader healthcare field with opportunities to design, implement, and test new strategies to drive quality improvement and measurement.

    Contact us for more information, and visit this page to learn about Leadership Consortium’s ongoing activities.

    Leadership Consortium Priorities

    • Optum
      Amy Nguyen Howell, Chair
    • American Association for Physician Leadership
      Peter Angood, Vice Chair
    • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality*
      Maushami DeSoto
    • American College of Lifestyle Medicine
      Padmaja Patel
    • American College of Medical Quality
      Dan Westphal
    • American College of Midwives
      Diana Jolles
    • American College of Physicians
      Samantha Tierney
    • American Heart Association
      Michele Bolles
    • Battelle
      Nicole Brennan
    • BlueCross BlueShield Association
      Carol Peden
    • Cleveland Clinic
      Robert Jones
    • Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services*
      Michelle Schreiber
    • Coalition to Transform Advanced Care (C-TAC)
      Ravi Parikh
    • Covered California
      Ashrith Amarnath
    • Encompass Health Corporation
      Mary Ellen DeBardeleben
    • Geisinger
      Amy Minnich
    • General Dynamics Information Technology
      Kristen Welker-Hood

    • Health Resources and Services Administration*
      Girma Alemu
    • Humana Inc.
      Kristin Russell
    • Intermountain Healthcare
      Mike Woodruff
    • Mayo Clinic
      Kannan Ramar
    • National Coalition for Cancer Survivorship
      Shelley Fuld Nasso
    • National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization
      Jennifer Kennedy
    • Novartis
      Jennifer Van Meter
    • Nursing Alliance for Quality Care
      Eileen Esposito
    • Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine
      Paul Epner
    • Teladoc Health, Inc.
      Bridget McCabe
    • Telligen
      Lindsey Wisham
    • Texas Health and Human Services Commission
      Dan Culica
    • University of Texas-MD Anderson Cancer Center
      Ronald Walters
    • URAC
      Shawn Griffin
    • Vizient, Inc.
      Robert Dean

    *ex-officio, non-voting

  • Opioid Playbook House Ad