Physician, Hospital, and Business Leaders Join NQF Board 

DEC 01, 2016

CONTACT: Sofia Kosmetatos

Physician, Hospital, and Business Leaders Join NQF Board

Washington, DC – The National Quality Forum (NQF) announced the appointment of three new members to its Board of Directors:

They began their tenure in November.

Composed of 21 members, the NQF Board provides organizational guidance on strategic and policy issues. Representatives include key public- and private-sector leaders who represent a wide range of major stakeholders in America’s healthcare system, including consumers and those who purchase healthcare on their behalf.

“The National Quality Forum addresses an important need in our nation. Our goal is to lead national collaboration to improve health and healthcare through measurement and quality initiatives,” said Helen Darling, MA, NQF’s interim president and CEO. “In upholding NQF’s mission, our Board provides us with invaluable strategic direction, and we are extremely grateful for their leadership, commitment, and service to NQF.”

Other NQF Board members include:

  • Bruce Siegel, MD, MPH (Chair), America’s Essential Hospitals
  • James Chase, MHA (Vice Chair), Minnesota Community Measurement
  • Lawrence M. Becker (Treasurer), Xerox Corporation (retired)
  • Andrew B. Bindman, MD, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
    Designee: Nancy J. Wilson, MD, MPH
  • Carol Cronin, Informed Patient Institute
  • Leonardo Cuello, JD, National Health Law Program
  • Helen Darling, MA, National Quality Forum
  • Elizabeth Fowler, PhD, JD, Johnson & Johnson Health Care Systems, Inc.
  • Thomas R. Frieden, MD, MPH, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
    Designee: Peter A. Briss, MD, MPH
  • William Kramer, Pacific Business Group on Health
  • James Macrae, MA, MPP, Health Resources & Services Administration
    Designee: Deborah Parham Hopson, PhD, RN
  • Carolyn Pare, Minnesota Health Action Group
  • Laurel Pickering, MPH, Northeast Business Group on Health
  • Louise Probst, St. Louis Area Business Health Coalition
  • Lewis Sandy, MD, UnitedHealth Group
  • David Shahian, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital Center for Quality and Safety
  • Andy Slavitt, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
    Designee: Kate Goodrich, MD
  • Kirsten Sloan, American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network

The Board elected James Chase, Carol Cronin, Elizabeth Fowler, and David Shahian each to serve a second, three-year term.


The National Quality Forum leads national collaboration to improve health and healthcare quality through measurement. Learn more at