NQF Board of Directors Elects New Leadership and Members 

NOV 14, 2017

CONTACT: Sofia Kosmetatos

NQF Board of Directors Elects New Leadership and Members

Washington, DC—The National Quality Forum’s (NQF) Board of Directors elected Jim Chase, MHA, senior advisor for the Network for Regional Healthcare Improvement, and Jonathan Perlin, MD, PhD, MSHA, president of clinical services and Chief Medical Officer for the Hospital Corporation of America as its new chair and vice chair, respectively. The NQF Board also appointed four new at-large members representing consumers and purchasers.

Chase is a leader in healthcare management. He is the former president of Minnesota Community Measurement and former director of health purchasing for government programs administered by the Minnesota Department of Human Services. He succeeds Bruce Siegel, MD, MPH, president and CEO of America’s Essential Hospitals, who will continue serving on the NQF Board through 2018. Perlin, who joined the NQF Board in 2016, is a former undersecretary of health at the Veterans Health Administration. He succeeds Chase, who served as NQF vice chair since 2016. Chase and Perlin will lead the NQF Board through 2019.

The new NQF Board members include:

Martha “Meg” Gaines, founder and director of the Center for Patient Partnerships. Gaines is a national advocate for patients facing life threatening and serious chronic illness. An ovarian cancer survivor, Gaines is a former trial attorney who founded the Center to ensure patients receive the care they need.

Carolyn Pare, is president and CEO of the Minnesota Health Action Group, a coalition of more than 50 public and private employers dedicated to healthcare market reform. A former director of human resources for the Target Corporation, Pare most recently served NQF as co-chair of the Consensus Standards Approval Committee.

Adam Thompson, the regional partner director of the South Jersey Local Performance Site of the Northeast Caribbean AIDS Education and Training Center. Thompson is a quality management coach for the National Quality Center, focusing on patient involvement and engagement. He currently serves on NQF Primary Care and Chronic Illness Standing Committee and was a member of NQF’s Expert Panel on Measuring Affordable Care for Consumers and the NQF 2012 Infectious Disease Committee. Thompson is a member of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services’ Technical Expert Panel for measures of patient safety and care coordination.

Knitasha Washington, DHA, MHA, FACHE, is a patient advocate and performance improvement expert who serves as the executive director of Consumers Advancing Patient Safety, a nonprofit organization that fosters consumers’ pursuit of safe, compassionate, and just healthcare. Washington is nationally recognized for her work in health equity and patient safety.

NQF’s newly elected Board members will serve three-year terms ending in 2020.

In addition, William A. Conway, MD, will serve a one-year term on NQF’s Board as the current chair of the NQF Consensus Standards Approval Committee. Conway is executive vice president, Henry Ford Health System, and chief executive officer, Henry Ford Medical Group.


The National Quality Forum leads national collaboration to improve health and healthcare quality through measurement. Learn more at www.qualityforum.org.