NQF’s 2017 Annual Conference April 4-5: Accelerating the National Agenda for Quality and Value 

MAR 29, 2017

CONTACT: Sofia Kosmetatos

NQF’s 2017 Annual Conference April 4-5: Accelerating the National Agenda for Quality and Value

Washington, DC—More than 500 leaders from across the healthcare sector, including the federal government, hospitals, healthcare systems, patient and consumer groups, and biopharmaceutical companies, will attend the National Quality Forum’s (NQF) 2017 Annual Conference, April 4-5 in Pentagon City, VA. The conference will explore the essential role of quality measurement and quality improvement in the healthcare system’s shift to providing safer, value-based, and person-centered care.

Featured speakers include:

  • Shantanu Agrawal, MD, MPhil, president and CEO, NQF 
  • Kate Goodrich, MD, director, Center for Clinical Standards and Quality, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
  • Joseph Antos, PhD, resident scholar and Wilson H. Taylor Scholar in Health Care and Retirement Policy, American Enterprise Institute
  • Ramanathan (Ram) Raju, MD, MBA, senior vice president and community health investment officer, Northwell Health
  • Bruce Siegel, MD, MPH, president and CEO, America’s Essential Hospitals and chair of NQF’s Board of Directors
  • Thomas Lee, MD, chief medical officer, Press Ganey
  • Jonathan Perlin, MD, PhD, MSHA, president, clinical services, and chief medical officer, HCA
  • Richard Carmona, MD, MPH, president, Canyon Ranch Institute Board of Directors and 17th Surgeon General of the United States (2000-2006)

Sessions address four critical areas: quality for vulnerable populations, amplifying the patient’s voice, quality and value in payment innovation, and helping providers shift to value. Panels and interviews include a discussion about quality and value in payment innovation moderated by Health Affairs Editor-in-Chief Alan Weil, with Avalere Health President Dan Mendelson, MPP; CAPG President and CEO Don Crane, JD; and The New York Times contributor and U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs health economist Austin Frakt, PhD.

NQF will recognize winners of the 2016 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award on April 4 and NQF’s Consumers and Patients for Quality Award on April 5.

The NQF annual conference is open to credentialed media. Meeting identification and information will be provided at the conference registration desk on-site. Please register in advance by contacting press@qualityform.org.


The National Quality Forum leads national collaboration to improve health and healthcare quality through measurement. Learn more at www.qualityforum.org.