The Joint Commission, National Quality Forum now accepting applications for the 20th John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards 

AUG 10, 2021

CONTACT: Proof Strategies

The Joint Commission, National Quality Forum now accepting applications for the 20th John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards

(OAKBROOK TERRACE, Illinois, and WASHINGTON, DC, August 10, 2021) –
The application period for the 2021 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards is open now through September 30. The annual awards program from The Joint Commission and the National Quality Forum (NQF) recognizes major achievements by individuals and organizations to improve patient safety and health care quality.

Awards are presented in three categories: Individual Achievement, National Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality, and Local Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality. Past recipients of this prestigious award include the Veterans Health Administration (VHA) Rapid Naloxone Initiative, HCA Healthcare, WellSpan Health, Children's Hospitals' Solutions for Patient Safety, American College of Surgeons and Memorial Hermann Healthcare System among many others who have made significant and long-lasting contributions to improving patient safety and health care quality.

Initiatives or projects eligible for the National and Local Level awards will have involved successful system changes or interventions that make the environment of care safer or that advocate on the patient’s behalf. These innovative efforts may address new technologies, protocols, procedures, education, organization culture, legislation, the media, patient advocacy, systems theory or another area. Organizations applying must have at minimum one year (12 months) of data supporting the improvement made by the featured initiative.

Applications will be evaluated by a panel of experts and leaders in health care quality and safety, chaired by Carolyn Clancy, MD, Assistant Under Secretary for Health for Discovery, Education and Affiliate Networks (14), Veterans Health Administration.

Launched in 2002, this award program honors the late John M. Eisenberg, MD, MBA, former administrator of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. An impassioned advocate for health care quality improvement, Dr. Eisenberg was a founding member of NQF’s board of directors.

For more information on the application process and to access the application form, please visit the Eisenberg Awards webpage. Interested parties can inquire about eligibility and the application process by contacting



About National Quality Forum
The National Quality Forum (NQF) works with members of the healthcare community to drive measurable health improvements together. NQF is a not-for-profit, membership-based organization that gives all healthcare stakeholders a voice in advancing quality measures and improvement strategies that lead to better outcomes and greater value. Learn more at

About The Joint Commission
Founded in 1951, The Joint Commission seeks to continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. The Joint Commission accredits and certifies more than 22,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States. An independent, nonprofit organization, The Joint Commission is the nation’s oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in health care. Learn more about The Joint Commission at

The Joint Commission Media Contact
Hannah Miller
Corporate Communications
(630) 792-5174