Bruce Siegel, MD, MPH, is New Chair of NQF Board of Directors 

NOV 10, 2015

CONTACT: Sofia Kosmetatos

Bruce Siegel, MD, MPH, is New Chair of NQF Board of Directors

Washington, DC
–The National Quality Forum Board of Directors has a new chair: Bruce Siegel, MD, MPH, the president and CEO of America’s Essential Hospitals. Siegel replaced Helen Darling, MA, the former president and CEO of the National Business Group on Health, who will continue to serve on the Board. James Chase, president of Minnesota Community Measurement, is now vice chair of the Board. Both Siegel and Chase began their tenure as chair and vice chair, respectively, on November 5.

Composed of 23 members, the NQF Board provides organizational guidance on strategic and policy issues. Representatives include key public- and private-sector leaders who represent a wide range of major stakeholders in America’s healthcare system, including consumers and those who purchase healthcare on their behalf.

“The National Quality Forum Board provides invaluable guidance,” said Christine K. Cassel, MD, NQF president and CEO. “With the Board’s direction, NQF is advancing measurement science and innovating to get to ever more meaningful measures that can drive improvements in health and healthcare and are responsive to today’s rapidly changing environment.”

Board members include:

  • Bruce Siegel, MD, MPH (Chair), America’s Essential Hospitals
  • James Chase, MHA (Vice Chair), Minnesota Community Measurement
  • Lawrence M. Becker (Treasurer), Xerox Corporation
  • Christine Cassel, MD, National Quality Forum
  • Carol Cronin, Informed Patient Institute
  • Leonardo Cuello, JD, National Health Law Program
  • Helen Darling, MA, National Business Group on Health
  • Lee Fleisher, MD, University of Pennsylvania Health System
  • Elizabeth Fowler, PhD, JD, Johnson & Johnson Health Care Systems, Inc.
  • Thomas R. Frieden, MD, MPH, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
    Designee: Peter A. Briss, MD, MPH
  • Marjorie Ginsburg, MPH, Center for Healthcare Decisions
  • Donald Kemper, Healthwise, Inc.
  • William Kramer, Pacific Business Group on Health
  • Richard J. Kronick, PhD, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
    Designee: Nancy J. Wilson, MD, MPH
  • Dolores L. Mitchell, Commonwealth of Massachusetts Group Insurance Commission
  • Laurel Pickering, MPH, Northeast Business Group on Health
  • Louise Probst, St. Louis Business Health Coalition
  • Lewis Sandy, MD, UnitedHealth Group
  • David Shahian, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital Center for Quality and Safety
  • Andy Slavitt, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
    Designee: Patrick H. Conway, MD
  • Kirsten Sloan, American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network
  • Paul C. Tang, MD, MS, Palo Alto Medical Foundation
  • Mary Wakefield, PhD, RN, Health Resources and Services Administration
    Designee: Deborah Parham Hopson, PhD, RN


The National Quality Forum leads national collaboration to improve health and healthcare quality through measurement. Learn more at