Award Criteria and Eligibility 

Application Information 

Please note: The National Quality Healthcare Award cycle has been deferred until 2014. Details about the new award cycle, including submission dates and requirements, will be posted at a later date.

Organizations eligible for the award include those that provide direct patient care and publicly report performance data under voluntary or mandated reporting programs. Eligible organizations include integrated health systems, individual hospitals, hospital systems, multispecialty group practices, and chronic care programs. 

Juror Information

The National Quality Healthcare Award is selected through a blinded review by a panel of jurors, using a uniform set of scoring critieria.

Each application is reviewed and scored independently by at least three jurors. The top performing applicants will advance to a final review by the full jury, where the award recipient is selected. The jury will also look for examples of best practices that could contribute to the overall body of knowledge and help inform other organizations regardless of their size.

  • Effective prioritization of performance improvement goals
  • Well-designed and deployed “dashboard” to measure and manage whole system performance
  • Commitment to transparency
  • Data-driven improvement of the National Quality Strategy (NQS) priorities, with an emphasis on patient-centered care, patient outcomes, reduced costs of care, and elimination of disparities
  • Demonstration of readiness to assume responsibilities of an accountable care organization, guided the organization’s strategic goals and focusing on collaboration and alignment
  • Demonstrated results on publicly reported performance measures


Related Information