Past Recipients 

The National Quality Healthcare Award is presented by NQF annually to an outstanding, quality-driven healthcare organization. The award was created in 1993 by the National Committee for Quality Healthcare (NCQH) as the first award of its kind. The award moved to the NQF in 2006 as a result of NQF's merger with NCQH.

2012 Recipient - Mountain States Health Alliance 

Award Jurors 

Tanya Alteras, MPP, Associate Director, Consumer-Purchaser Disclosure Project, National Partnership for Women & Fmailies

Donald Casey, Jr., MD, MBA, MPH Vice President, Quality and Chief Medical OfficerAtlantic Health

William Corley, HPI Specialist Consultant, Health Performance Improvement, LLC

William Golden, MD, Medical Director, Health Policy Arkansas Medicaid

Thomas James, III, MD Medical Director, National Network Humana, Inc.

Rachel Nelson, MHA Senior Advisor to Chief Scientific Officer, Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology

Sunil Sinha, MBA, MD Vice President, Medical Affairs Bon Secours - Memorial Regional Medical Center

Kathy Szumanski, MSN, RN Director, Institute of Quality, Safety and Injury Prevention Emergency Nurses Association

2011 Recipient - Norton Healthcare 

Award Program  

Award Program Committee
Award Jurors 

2010 Recipient - North Shore-LIJ Health System 

Award Program | Video  

Award Program Committee 
Award Jurors 

2009 Recipient - Memorial Hermann Healthcare System, Houston, Texas 

Award Jurors 

2008 Recipient - Baylor Healthcare System, Dallas, Texas 

Award Jurors 

2007 Recipient - HealthPartners, Bloomington, MN 


2006 Recipient - Bringham and Women's Hospital, Boston, MA 

Supplement on the 2006 Award from Modern Healthcare 


2005 Recipient - Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Chicago, IL 

Supplement on the 2005 Award from Modern Healthcare 


2004 Recipient - Trinity Health, Novi, MI 

Supplement on the 2004 Award from Modern Healthcare 


2003 Recipient - Leigh Valley Hospital and Health Network, Allentown, PA 


2002 Recipient- Carilion Health System, Roanoke, VA 


2001 Recipient - Catholic Health Initiatives, Denver, CO 


2000 Recipient - Munson Medical Center, Traverse City, MI 


1999 Recipient - BJC Health System, St. Louis, MO 


1998 Recipient - University of Pennsylvania Health System, Philadelphia, PA 


1997 Recipient - St. Luke's Hospital, Kansas City, MO 

Special Recognition: Shadyside Hospital, Pittsburgh, PA


1996 Recipient - Intermountain Healthcare, Salt Lake City, UT 

Special Recognition: Ohio State University Medical Center, Columbus, OH; St. Luke's Hospital, Kansas City, MO 

Honorable Mention for Progress Targeted to Special Populations:Independence Blue Cross, Philadelphia, PA; Touchette Regional Hospital, Centreville, IL


1995 Recipient - Evanston Hospital Corporation, Evanston, IL 

Honorable Mention: Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center,
Baton Rouge, LA


1994 Recipient - Henry Ford Health System, Detroit, MI