• The John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards recognize major achievements by individuals and organizations to improve patient safety and healthcare quality.

    Each year, the National Quality Forum (NQF) and the Joint Commission (TJC) recognize the best examples of individual, local, and national efforts to improve patient safety and healthcare quality through the prestigious Eisenberg Awards. These awards bring the quality community together to honor groundbreaking initiatives that are consistent with the aims of the National Quality Strategy: better care, healthy people and communities, and smarter spending.

    Launched in 2002, the awards honor the late John M. Eisenberg, MD, MBA, former administrator of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. An impassioned advocate for healthcare quality improvement, Dr. Eisenberg was a founding member of NQF’s board of directors. 

    Awards are presented in three categories:

    • Individual—Recognizes individuals who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and scholarship in patient safety and healthcare quality through a substantive body of work.
    • National—Recognizes projects or initiatives that extend beyond the local area to achieve national impact. This category focuses especially on projects or initiatives that involve successful system changes and interventions, make the environment of care safer, or advocate on behalf of patients.
    • Local—Recognizes projects or initiatives that impact an organization, local community, region, or state and result in measurable improvements in health and wellbeing. 

    Past award winners have implemented highly effective programs to advance quality and patient safety, including initiatives to improve care coordination and substantially reduce hospital readmission rates, achieve significant decreases in hospital-acquired infections, and create robust cultures and systems of safety.

    The awards submission period opened in early September and closed in late October. Awards are presented during NQF’s Annual Conference the following spring.

    For more information, contact EisenbergAwards@qualityforum.org.

  • Take your seat at our table. Become a member. Join NQF.
  • Eisenberg - Kumar - 457